On Line Genealogy Page

Union, Maine, formerly known as Sterlingtown

A Long Settled and Historic Town.


Union was settled in 1774, organized May 3,1786 as the 48th town of the Province of Maine, and incorporated as the 20th state on the 20th of October, 1786.


Union can be reached by route #17, route #235 or route #131. Waterways are Crawford Pond, Lermond Pond, Medomak River, Seven Tree Pond and Sennebec Pond. The people of Union are proud to say that we are one of the few villages to still have a true, active village green or common which boasts a bandstand and several small businesses.