OWL'S HEAD

On Line Genealogy Page



Welcome to Owl's Head, Maine

Home of Historic Owl's Head Light

History

The area was first explored in 1605 when it was the territory of the Abenaki Indians who called it Bedabedec Point, meaning "Cape of the Winds." The town of Warren, incorporated in 1776, originally included the modern territory of Owl's Head. In March of 1777 the Mill River portion became Thomaston. On the 18th of July, 1848 the eastern portion of Thomaston became East Thomaston, on the 17th of July, 1850, East Thomaston was officially changed to Rockland, and Owl's Head separated from Rockland on the 9th of July, 1911.

Features

It is situated on the coast south of Rockland. Take South Shore Drive off highway #72. The Knox County Airport is located here. It boasts a number of islands. Its most historic feature is the 85' lighthouse atop the granite cliffs called Owl's Head Light, now a state park.

Owl's Head Light

Owls Head