Knox County Genealogy

There are 100 pages on this site having to do with Knox county and its towns. They are the red pages and the blue pages.
In addition there are clickable links to hundreds of related sites. Suggestions, additions, and corrections welcomed.


If you did not receive an answer within a reasonable time,
please e-mail me again.


If you are sending me an e-mail, please be sure to put Knox in the subject line! Otherwise there is no way for me to distinguish it from messages sent by advertisers or sent to lists I am on, and it may be deleted unread! If you don't receive an answer within a reasonable time, please e-mail me again!

About the Maine GenWeb Project

  • Before Maine's KnoxGenWeb: In March and April, 1996, a group of genealogists organized the Kentucky Comprehensive Genealogy Database. The idea was to provide a single entry point for all counties in Kentucky, where collected databases would be stored. In addition, the databases would be indexed and cross-linked, so that even if an individual were found in more than one county, they could be located in the index.
  • At the same time, volunteers were found who were willing to coordinate the collection of databases and generally oversee the contents of the web page. The MaineGenWeb Project is an extension of the KYGenWeb Project. The person responsible for Knox County is Sena Spear Havasy. Please contact me, if you have questions or wish to help.

About Knox County

  • Before there was a Knox County: Until 1620 the area we call Knox County was part of North Virginia when it became New England. On March 23, 1630 it was the Lincolnshire or Muscongus Patent, later called the Waldo Patent.
  • From 1639 until 1664 it was known as the province of Maine . From 1664-1673 it was part of the County of Newcastle, Province of New York. From 1673 to 1676 it was the County of Devonshire, Royal Province of Mass. Bay. In 1677 the area passed back to New York.
  • Eleven years later, in 1689, it was again part of Mass. West of the Kennebec River it was the Province of Maine, east of the river, (our side), it was the Colony of Sagadahoc, Royal Province of Maine until 1691.
  • Then it became Yorkshire County, later York County, until 1760 when it became Lincoln County. In 1827 Waldo County was formed from it. On April 1, 1860 Knox County was formed from parts of Waldo and Lincoln Counties.


  • St. George's was named, but not settled, in 1623 approximately where Warren is today. It was Fort George, 'the frontier possession of the English', from 1630 to 1699. In 1719 two blockhouses were built where Thomaston is now. The first civilian settlement at St. Georges was in 1735. In Nov. 1776 the Upper Town of St. George's became Warren, which included the present Rockland and Thomaston.
  • Knox County is the very heart of the central Maine coast. It boasts 14 lighthouses and many islands as well as many navigable harbors.

This site was last updated June 2015

Since this site was started in 1997 it has averaged 400 hits per month or 54,240 hits to date.

      Copyright Notice: All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from Sena Havasy and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissable to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.